2001 PEARL Awards Huge Success

The best in the LDS music business are honored

Salt Lake City, UT – Colors, George Dyer and the legendary Kurt Bestor swept the 2001 PEARL Awards. Each respective group or artist happily walked away with three awards in their hands.

Donning dapper tuxedos and gorgeous gowns artists, presenters and other important guests made the 2001 PEARL Awards the premier event in Salt Lake City. Scott Christopher, the KJZZ Movie Guy, was the host of the evening. He quickly became the crowd favorite with his smart and brilliant handling of the crowd.

Dazzling performances were given by 2001 PEARL Award Winners Peter Brienholt Jenny Frogley, Kurt Bestor, Tammy Robinson, Sam Cardon, George Dyer, and Colors, and others. Celebrities were on hand including Marie Osmond and husband Brian Blosil. Blosil received an award for producing the Contemporary Instrumental Album of the Year. Presenters included Carol Makita, Crawford Gates, John Bytheway, Dean Hughes, Kurt Bestor, Kenneth Cope and many others.

Janice Kapp Perry received the well-deserved Lifetime Achievement Award. After the touching tribute to her immense contributions to the Latter-Day Saint community, she walked to the stage as the audience gave her a standing ovation that didn’t seem to end. She delivered a heartfelt and teary-eyed thanks to all. All looked to her with great admiration.

Other 2001 PEARL Award Winners include George Dyer – Male Vocalist; Cherie Call – Female Vocalist; Tammy S. Robinson – Inspirational Album; Julie de Azevedo – Contemporary Recording; and Kenneth Cope and Tyler Castleton – Sacred Album.

The 2001 PEARL Awards were taped for re-broadcast. The 2001 PEARL Awards will be aired on August 26 at 8 pm on KJZZ TV.

Female Vocalist
Cherie Call

Male Vocalist of the Year
George Dyer

New Artist of the Year
George Dyer

Group of the Year
Colors (Ryan Merrill, Brian Tibbets, Russell Dixon)

Performing Artist of the Year

Instrumentalist of the Year
Sam Cardon

Songwriter of the Year
Tyler Castleton

Studio Musician of the Year
Rich Dixon

Sacred Recording
“All Creatures of Our God and King”
Wondrous Love George Dyer

Inspirational Recording
“The Olive Tree” Songs for Young Women
Jenny Jordan Frogley

Sacred/Insprational Instrumental Recording
“Overture” The Lamb of God Soundtrack & Passion of the Lamb Cantata
Kurt Bestor

Inspirational Album
The Color of Hope
Tammy Robinson; Greg Hansen and Guy Randle

Sacred Album
A Prayer Unto Thee
Kenneth Cope & Tyler Castleton

Contemporary Recording
“Wings” Dive Deep Julie de Azevedo

Contemporary Album
Outside the Lines; Colors, John Hancock

Contemporary Instrumental Recording
“And the Moon” Soulmate Michael Dowdle

Sacred/Inspirational Instrumental Album
Where Love Is; Jenny Oaks Baker; Kenny Hodges

Contemporary Instrumental Album
Digability; Sam Cardon; Brian Blosil

Themed or Concept Album
Forward With Faith; Various Artists; Peter Breinholt & Jon Schmidt

Musical Presentation or Soundtrack
The Lamb of God Soundtrack & Passion of the Lamb Cantata; Kurt Bestor & Kenny Hodges

Compilation Album
His Love; Shadow Mountain

Producer of the Year
John Hancock

Orchestrator / Arranger of the Year
Kurt Bestor

Holiday Recording
“We Three Kings” Holiday Wishes: Enoch Train Enoch Train

Engineer of the Year
Barry Gibbons

Best Album Design
Heart Made of Wind
(Steven Hansen & Tyler Gourley)

Radio Show of the Year
John Hair (KOSY 106.5)

Record Label of the Year
Highway Records

Retailer of the Year
Cardston Book, Lonnie Lockhart


2001 Meridian Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.