Sign up for Meridian’s Free Newsletter, please CLICK HERE

Cover image via LDS.org. 

Youth in Africa will have the opportunity to interact with Elder Dale G. Renlund of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and his wife, Sister Ruth L. Renlund, during a regional Face to Face event in Accra, Ghana, on August 5, 2017—the first Church broadcast originating from the Africa West Area.

All youth and their friends, leaders, and parents in Africa (and all others who wish to participate) are invited to watch the live, interactive question-and-answer broadcast on Saturday, August 5, on face2face.lds.org, LDS Youth on Facebook and YouTube, or their area communication page. There will be two originating broadcasts, one in English, Portuguese, and Malagasy at 10:00 a.m. GMT (10:00 a.m. in Ghana, 12:00 p.m. in Johannesburg), and the second in French at 1:00 p.m. GMT (1:00 p.m. in Ghana, 3:00 p.m. in Johannesburg).

“Ruth and I were thrilled to get the assignment to return to Africa!” said Elder Renlund. “While we lived in Africa we were frequently in awe of the immense faith we found in the members there and in the island nations of the Indian Ocean. There is no question the light of the gospel shines brightly in their countenances. We look forward to being in their presence and basking in their love for the Lord again.”

Sister Ruth Renlund said, “Elder Renlund and I are so excited to be with our members in the Africa West and Africa Southeast Areas!”

“I often say people like me better if they have met Ruth first,” Elder Renlund added. “I know these wonderful youth will be blessed by her faith and confidence in the Lord and her practical approach to daily gospel living. It will be a treat for me to have her by my side during this event.”

To read more about this upcoming event, click here