Authors Honored at Whitney Awards

Orson Scott Card and Kerry Blair were honored at the second annual Whitney Award gala on April 25 at the Provo Marriott with Lifetime achievement awards. Card is the recipient of numerous awards and is widely recognized for his many novels, newspaper columns, short stories, and essays both in the general market and in the LDS market. Blair is known and loved for her eight novels, several compilations, numerous speaking engagements, and especially for her loving support of other writers, many of whom she has helped bridge that gap between wanting to write and actually getting published.

“Traitor” by Sandra Grey was named Novel of the Year. Grey is the pen name of Norene Uchytil, an Arizona native. “Traitor” is her first novel. Angela Hallstrom was awarded Best Novel by a New Author, for “Bound on Earth.” Hallstrom also received the 2008 Book of the Year award from the Association for Mormon Letters.

The Whitney Academy is in its second year under the direction of founder and president Robison Wells. Comprised of authors, editors, reviewers, publishers, bookstore personnel and others in the field, the Whitney Awards honor excellence in fiction by LDS authors. Nominees included first-time authors in the LDS market as well as nationally renowned authors.

The winners were:

Aubrey Mace, Best Romance, for “Spare Change.”

Stephanie Black, Best Mystery/Suspense, for “Fool Me Twice.”

James Dashner, Best Youth Fiction, for “The 13 th Reality.”

Brandon Sanderson, Best Speculative, for “The Hero of Ages,” the third book in the popular “Mistborn” series.

Heather (H.B.) Moore, Best Historical, for “Abinadi.” Moore is the first person to receive a second Whitney; ” Land of Inheritance ” took the same genre award in 2008.

Annette Hawes, Best General Fiction, for “Waiting for the Light to Change.”

Named for early LDS apostle Orson F. Whitney who predicted in the 19 th Century that the LDS Church would yet “have Shakespeares and Miltons of our own,” the Whitney Awards have evolved into a three-fold mission: to honor outstanding work by LDS authors, to show that works published within the LDS community are often as good or better than those found in the national market, and to promote excellence among writers who have not yet been published.

For more information, visit

Return to Top of Article