SALT LAKE CITY, Utah — Elder Claudio R.M. Costa, Elder Steven E. Snow and Elder Walter F. Gonzalez were all sustained by members of the Church as new members of the Presidency of the Seventy, the third highest governing body of the Church, in the Saturday morning session of the 177th Semiannual General Conference.

The Presidency of the Seventy, under the direction of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, supervises areas of the Church in the United States and Canada, assists with international administration and guides ongoing training of regional and local leaders.

Elder Claudio R.M. Costa. Photographs Copyright 2007 Intellectual Reserve, Inc. All rights reserved.

Elder Claudio R. M. Costa was sustained a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy on March 31, 2001 and served in the Second Quorum of the Seventy from April 1994 through March 2001. He has served as president of the South America North Area, president of the Brazil North Area and as a counselor in the Brazil and South America South Areas.


Elder Steven E. Snow.

Elder Steven E. Snow was called to serve as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy in March of 2001 and has supervisory responsibility for the North America Central Area. Elder Snow previously has served as Executive Director of the Priesthood Department and as president of the Africa Southeast Area of the Church.

Elder Walter F. Gonzalez.

Elder Walter F. Gonzalez was sustained to the First Quorum of the Seventy March 31, 2001, previously serving in the South America North Area presidency as an Area Authority Seventy. A native of Uruguay, Elder Gonzalez was formerly Church Education System director for the South America North Area, CES employee, and area public affairs director.