SALT LAKE CITY — Changes in the leadership and membership of the Quorums of the Seventy were announced today at the Saturday afternoon session of the 174th Semiannual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf was released as a member of the Presidency of the Seventy and as a member of the First Quorum of the Seventy to accept his new responsibilities in the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

Because of his call to the Quorum of the Twelve, Elder David A. Bednar was released as an Area Authority Seventy.

Elder Robert C. Oaks, a member of the Second Quorum of the Seventy, was named to the Presidency of the Quorums of the Seventy, filling the vacancy created by Elder Uchtdorf’s release.

Released from their service as General Authorities and as members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy were: Elder E. Ray Bateman, Elder Val R. Christensen, Elder Keith Crockett, Elder Merrill C. Oaks, Elder Gordon T. Watts and Elder Stephen A. West.

Elder Andrew M. Ford was sustained as an Area Authority Seventy, a calling that had been previously announced.

Released from their service as Area Authority Seventies were: Juan A. Alvaradejo, Julio E. Alvarado, Modesto M. Amistad Jr., Horacio P. Araya, Robert K. Bills, Harold C. Brown, V. Francisco Chinchay, Armando Gaona, Eduardo A. Lamartine, Gary S. Matsuda, Julio E. Otay, Carlos L. Pedraja, Jorge A. Pedrero, João R. C. Martins Silva, Irajá B. Soáres, Héctor M. Verdugo and Jorge F. Zeballos.