SALT LAKE CITY — Changes in the general presidencies of the Sunday School and Young Men and among Area Authority Seventies were announced in the Saturday afternoon session of the 174th Annual General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Released from their assignments in the presidency of the Sunday School and given a vote of thanks for their service were Elder Merrill J. Bateman, president, Elder John H. Groberg, first counselor, and Elder Val R. Christensen, second counselor.

Also receiving an expression of gratitude as they were released from the Young Men general presidency were Elder F. Melvin Hammond, president, Elder Lynn G. Robbins, first counselor, and Elder Donald L. Hallstrom, second counselor.

These General Authorities will continue their full-time service to the Church in other assignments.

A. Roger Merrill will serve as general president of the Sunday School with Daniel K. Judd as first counselor and William D. Oswald as second counselor. Charles W. Dahlquist II will lead the Young Men as general president, supported by Dean R. Burgess as first counselor and Michael A. Neider as second counselor.

Since October 1979, the presidencies of the Sunday School and Young Men have been composed of General Authorities serving as full-time members of the Seventy. The leaders called today will continue their employment while serving part-time in their auxiliary presidency positions. They are considered general officers of the Church, but do not serve as General Authorities and will not have other assignments.

Sunday School General Presidency

A. Roger Merrill, 58, has been serving as an Area Authority Seventy in the Utah South Area. Raised in Carmel, California, he completed his bachelor’s degree at Brigham Young University (BYU). Building on his experience in a variety of business and personnel management positions, Brother Merrill is a senior consultant for a leadership training company, a partner in his own consulting firm and the author of several books. He has served the Church as a stake president, a member of the general Melchizedek Priesthood Committee, a high councilor, bishop, branch president and full-time missionary. He and his wife, Rebecca Rippy Merrill, make their home in Lehi, Utah, and are parents of seven children.

Daniel K. Judd, 47, is chairman of the Department of Ancient Scripture at BYU. Brother Judd grew up in Kanab, Utah, earned his bachelor’s degree from Southern Utah University (SUU) and completed his master’s degree and doctorate at BYU. Prior to his call to the Sunday School general presidency, Brother Judd was serving as president of the Orem Utah Canyon View Stake. Other Church service assignments include bishop, ward mission leader, Young Men president, Sunday School teacher and Cub Scout leader. Now residing in Orem, Utah, he is married to Kaye Seegmiller Judd, and they have four children.

William D. Oswald, 68, is currently serving as president of the Russia Vladivostok Mission. He will complete his mission assignment in July, then return to assume his new responsibilities. An attorney and U.S. Army veteran, Brother Oswald received his law degree from the University of Utah (U. of U.) where he also spent his undergraduate years. He has served the Church as a member of the Sunday School general board, a member of the Sunday School general presidency, regional representative, bishop, branch president and Sunday School teacher. He and his wife, Mavis Morris Oswald, have six children.

Young Men General Presidency

Charles W. Dahlquist II, 56, was serving as branch president of a young single adult branch before today’s call to lead the Young Men program of the Church. Originally from Boise, Idaho, Brother Dahlquist is an attorney. He received his J.D. from the U. of U. after finishing a bachelor’s degree at BYU. A leader in civic and community organizations, he has also served the Church as a mission president, stake president, counselor in a stake presidency, high councilor, ward Young Men president, Scoutmaster and full-time missionary. Married to Zella Darley Dahlquist, they are parents of five daughters and reside in Sandy, Utah.

Dean R. Burgess, 57, will leave his current Church service as a high councilor in a student stake to serve as first counselor in the Young Men general presidency. Brother Burgess spent his early years in Richfield, Utah, then went on to attend the College of Southern Utah (now SUU) and completed his bachelor’s degree at BYU. He is a construction supervisor and home builder. Other Church service includes mission president, counselor in a stake presidency, stake Young Men president, bishop, high councilor, stake missionary, priesthood instructor and full-time missionary. He and his wife, Annette Christensen Burgess, have five children and make their home in Sandy, Utah.

Michael A. Neider, 55, has been serving as first counselor in the presidency of the Utah Salt Lake City South Mission. Raised in Tyhee, Idaho (near Pocatello), Brother Neider is a business executive and lawyer. He earned both his bachelor’s and law degrees from BYU. Active in community service as well, he has served the Church as a stake president, stake Young Men president, bishop, ward mission leader and Sunday School teacher. Married to Rosemary Curtis Neider, they are parents of eight children and live in Sandy, Utah.

Area Authority Seventies

35 new Area Authority Seventies were named in today’s afternoon conference session. Area Authorities give voluntary Church service within their assigned geographic areas.

Called as Area Authority Seventies: Jorge M. Alvarado, 33, Toa Alta, Puerto Rico; Homero S. Amato, 55, São Paulo, Brazil; John S. Anderson, 54, Gainesville, Florida; Jorge D. Arrevillaga, 57, Tapachula, México; A. Venâncio Caleira, 41, Setubal, Portugal; Gabriel A. Campos, 56, Villa Alemana, Chile; Mario L. Carlos, 43, Torreón, México; John J. Chipman, 57, Carmel, Indiana; LeGrand R. Curtis Jr., 51, Salt Lake City, Utah; César A. Dávila, 53, Bogotá,Colombia: Mosiah S. Delgado, 47, Tlaxcala, México; Keith R. Edwards, 62, Las Vegas, Nevada; J. Roger Fluhman, 63, Bountiful, Utah; Luiz C. França, 40, Belem, Brazil; Manuel Gonzalez, 55, Mexico City, México; Tohru Hotta, 65, Nagoya, Japan; Bin Kikuchi, 55, Sapporo, Japan; Yong Hwan Lee, 60, Suwon, South Korea; Alfredo Heliton de Lemos, 62, Curitiba, Brazil; Domingos S. Linhares, 45, Jaboatão, Brazil; Alexander A. Nuñez, 47, Lima, Peru; Melvin R. Perkins, 59, Juneau, Alaska; James C. Perry, 44, Cowiche, Washington; Errol S. Phippen, 62, Farmington, Utah; John C. Pingree, 64, Salt Lake City, Utah; Neil E. Pitts, 52, Webster, New York; Dinar M. Reyes, 50, Viña del Mar, Chile; Jorge A. Rojas, 63, Monterrey, México; Eric B. Shumway, 64, Laie, Hawaii; Joseph W. Sitati, 51, Nairobi, Kenya; Terrence C. Smith, 56, Raymond, Alberta, Canada; Lowell M. Snow, 60, North Salt Lake, Utah; Michael J. Teh, 38, Angono, Philippines; Stanley Wan, 48, Hong Kong, China; Allen P. Young, 63, Johannesburg, South Africa.

Released from part-time service as Area Authority Seventies were: Adolfo Ávalos, Lowell C. Barber, David J. Barnett, R. Michael Duffin, Rowland E. Elvidge, Silvio Geschwandtner, Brent H. Koyle, A. Roger Merrill, J. Michael Moeller, Adrian Ochoa and Lindon J. Robison.