Two-time Emmy-nominated program features performances, appearances from
Local and National Celebrities

Salt Lake City — The 2003 Pearl Awards, taped in a gala ceremony in Salt Lake City, will be broadcast on ABC4 television (KTVX) on Sunday, July 13 at 6 p.m. The annual awards show recognizes outstanding achievement in faith-centered music.

The 2001 and 2002 Pearl Awards broadcasts garnered Rocky Mountain Emmy nominations in the category of entertainment program. The 2003 broadcast promises to be even more spectacular.

This year’s show features outstanding performances from top regional acts including Kenneth Cope, Jericho Road, Ray Smith, Hilary Weeks and the a cappella group Eclipse.

Hosting for his third year in a row, actor and comedian Scott Christopher is in top form. Presenters include Tal Bachman, Academy Award *-winning director Keith Merrill, Dan Pope, Maren Ord, Heather Beers, Kirby Heyborne, Enoch Train and many, many more.

The Legacy Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Jerold Ottley, now retired from 25 years of conducting the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Senator Orrin Hatch will also be honored with the Rich Gibbons Humanitarian Service Award.

The program is presented annually by the Faith Centered Music Association (FCMA). Now in its sixth year, the Pearl Awards are voted on by other artists, engineers, producers and musicians within the faith centered music community.

Jeff Simpson, who has produced Pearl Awards every year since its inception in 1998, also produced this year’s show, which was taped June 20 at Cottonwood Auditorium in Salt Lake City, UT.

2003 Meridian Magazine.  All Rights Reserved.